Rugby World Cup in England

Main Image

You can't have missed that the 8th Rugby World Cup is hosted by England and Wales this year. Here's everything you need to know about those all-important matches!

The Rugby World Cup runs from 18 September to 31 October. There are matches at 12 stadium across England, and at the Millennium Stadium in Wales. The final is at Twickenham Stadium in London.

Twenty teams play in the final tournament and each country is allowed 31 members in the squad.

In August coach the 31 World Cup squad members - 17 forwards and 14 backs - were announced by Stuart Lancaster.

More Rugby World Cup Facts!

The Rugby World Cup has been held every four years since 1987.

This is the third time that England has hosted the Rugby World Cup.

New Zealand was the winner of the last Rugby World Cup in 2011.

There are three countries that have won the Rugby World Cup twice – New Zealand, Australia and South Africa.

School children in England and Wales are taking part in the Rugby World Cuup 2015 welcoming ceremony.

About ten thousand people volunteer to help make the World Cup happen.

You can watch all the matches on ITV.

Jason Leonard holds the record for playing in the most Rugby World Cup matches. He has made 22 appearances!

The winning team takes home the Web Ellis cup, named after the 16-year-old boy from Rugby School who invented the new game. Legend has it that he was playing football when he picked up the ball and ran across the pitch. And so we now have rugby!

The England team has been training at high altitude in Switzerland.

Don't forget to keep hydrated with plenty of liquid when you are exercising.

So how exactly does the Rugby World Cup work?

The twenty teams taking part are divided into four pools, of five teams each. Here are the pools:

Pool A

  • Australia
  • England
  • Wales
  • Fiji
  • Uruguay

Pool B

  • South Africa
  • Samoa
  • Scotland
  • Japan
  • United States

Pool C

  • New Zealand
  • Argentina
  • Tonga
  • Georgia
  • Namibia

Pool D

  • France
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Canada
  • Romania

There are ten games in each pool, so each country plays against each of the other teams. Teams are awarded four points if they win and two points for a draw. They get a bonus point for scoring four or more tries in a match, or if they lose by seven points or fewer.

The top two teams in each pool play in the quarter-finals, and the four winners of those matches play in the semi-finals. Finally, two teams play the final.


17 and 18 October – semi-finals at Twickenham Stadium and Millennium Stadium

24 and 25 October – quarter-finals at Twickenham Stadium

31 October – finals at Twickenham Stadium